A World of Hope

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mother’s Day

A very special day is coming up soon. That day is Mother’s Day. I love my mom and in honor of her and all of the other mothers, I put together a little poem. Also, Happy Mother’s Day from me to all of you!

Mother’s Day
by Matt Johnson

I look at all our pictures, wow it’s been awhile.
I may not remember the days, but I’ll always remember your smile.
You’d watch me while I played with my toys.
Treat my bumps and bruises, saying “boys will be boys”.

You took me to all my favorite places.
Came to my baseball games to watch me run the bases.
All our long conversations and staying up late,
Cause I wanted you to know all about my first date.

You were the one who started it all.
You were there for me before I could crawl.
I could tell you loved me, you didn’t have to speak.
Always by my side, through the bright and the bleak.

Now I look back on everything you’ve done.
Nobody compares to you, not even one.
And now there’s just one thing left for me to do.
And that’s to tell you mom, “I love you”.

April 29, 2010 - Posted by | Poem | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I can’t agree more! A mother’s day doesn’t give enough appreciation! I say we need an entire month. And that’s such a lovely poem!

    -Jeff

    Comment by JeffR | April 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’ve been reading all these and I just wanted to tell you that I tink their great. This and Sunny Down are my favorite! Good Luck on the publishing!

    With Love,
    Your Brother

    Comment by Kavon Martin | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. P.S.- I’snt there another poem called sunny sundown?

    Comment by Kavon Martin | May 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha. Thanks bro! Sunny Sundown is one of my personal favorites as well!

      The character Sunny Sundown comes from Peace Like A River, the novel we read in Comparative Literature with Ramisch.

      Comment by Matt Johnson | May 6, 2010 | Reply

      • Well I guess i didnt forget everything from high school haha

        Comment by Kavon Martin | May 10, 2010

  4. nice poetry I love it and your blog ..
    I add it to my favorite …

    Comment by ghala2010 | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. That was an amazing poem! Really like your style 🙂

    Comment by desdemona55 | May 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. sweet, you must make your mother proud here.

    cheers.

    Comment by Jingle | April 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

