A World of Hope

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tears On My Pillow

Tears On My Pillow
by Matt Johnson

Late at night, I am all alone.
My pillow stained with tears.
Tears from nights past,
Tears from night present.

I feel the aches of the body.
I feel the aches of the mind.
Yet I am numb.
The day’s events have dulled my senses.

Abuse has become my interaction.
There is no more “hello”.
Only strong hands against me.
Only “worthless”, “piece of shit”, “no good”, “pathetic”.

I hear what you say about me.
I see the way you look at me.
You do not know me.
You do not want to know me.

Dreams of spaceships and cowboys
Replaced by the nightmares of life.
Robbed of a childhood.
Given an understanding of life.

A single tear glides across my cheek.
A new nightly ritual before my sleep.
A tear for nights past,
A tear for night present.

April 25, 2010 - Posted by | Poem | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Matt,

    This piece is particularly powerful since it was written by a man of your age. I notice that you can move between more structured, rhyming verse and the free-flowing, too. I do that, too, kind of like cross-training.

    Thanks for visiting my site, too. I replied to your Comment there, as well, and am delighted to keep up the conversation.

    Comment by rachel | May 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

