A World of Hope

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Summer Night

Summer Night
by Kojo Addo and Matt Johnson

It is late in the night,
But the warmth of the day remains.
I look out and see a resting community.
The sky a burning sea of red,
Only to be parted by the bright moon.
The street light becomes the artificial sun.
The warmth of the night
Now replaced by a cool breeze,
Hushing the foreign sounds around me.
My nostrils dance with the scent of freshly cut grass.
My tongue tingles with the taste of barbeque.
My ears ring with the constant chirping of crickets.
I hear a rumbling behind a wall of daisies.
Two rabbits emerge.
They sit like statues in the grass,
Gazing upon the night.
I am also a statue.
My own world.
Silence. Stillness. Solidarity.

April 25, 2010 - Posted by | Poem | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I really like this one out of all of the ones I’ve read so far on this blog, I feel like I can relate to it and the words could have come from my mouth just as well. It’s beautiful! I really like your approach and perspective of writing and enthusiasm about it. You definitely inspire me to write more often!

    -Jeff

    Comment by JeffR | April 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. P.S. I’m linking to you on my blog right now FYI

    Comment by JeffR | April 26, 2010 | Reply

    • That is great! I am very glad you appreciate my poetry! I write for exactly these kinds of responses!

      Comment by Matt Johnson | April 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. well expressed silent night,
    lovely word flow.

    Greetings,

    Welcome join poets rally week 41,

    Thanks for the time, a free verse is accepted,

    Your poetry rocks. Hope to see you in

    xx

    Comment by Jingle | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  4. yey! you made it!
    I did tell you I’ve been featuring you on my homepage right?
    I am so happy for you! you have talent!

    Luna

    Comment by lunawitch15 | April 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

